The Jewish Federation of Southern Arizona will honors its 2014 award winners at the Annual Meeting and Awards Celebration on Thursday, May 1 at 7:00 p.m. at the Tucson Jewish Community Center. “Feddy’s,” the custom metal and glass awards designed by Lynn Rae Lowe for the Federation, and other awards will be given to the winners at the event.

Heading the list of honorees are Woman of the Year, Rosie Eilat Kahn, and Man of the year, Terry Allen Pearl, two deeply and admired leaders. Rosie’s name is synonymous with all aspects of our community’s Holocaust education effort, which has been a lifetime journey for her. As a child of Survivors, Rosi’s passion for this work has transformed many of us. In addition, she is involved in may other community endeavors. Rosi has also served on the Federation, Handmaker Jewish Services for the Aging, Congregation Anshei Israel, Hebrew High, and Jewish Community Relations Council Boards and she chaired the Federation’s Compelling Needs Grant program. Terry is a relative newcomer to Tucson, but in a very short period of time his depth of leadership has been extensive. He was instrumental in developing the Federation’s Task Force for Jewish Seniors and Adults with Disabilities, which led to the creation of the Jewish Elder Access Program at Jewish Family & Children’s Services. He currently serves as the Federation’s Strategic Planning Chair, which, through its Strategic Planning Initiative, inspired the creation of the Jewish Community Roundtable. Terry also chairs the Federation’s Allocations Work-group and not only sits on the Federation board, but has provided leadership for Tucson Hebrew Academy, Jewish Family & Children’s Services, and is incoming Chair of Handmaker Jewish Services for the Aging. Aside from their remarkable leadership “resumes,” both Rosie and Terry are warm and caring individuals who epitomize the core value to build a community where each of us is responsible for one another.

Melissa Goldfinger and David Plotkin, two of our most committed Jewish leaders, will receive the Gary I. Sarver Young Woman and Young Man of the Year Awards, which include stipends to be applied toward an Israel mission or attendance at the General Assembly of The Jewish Federations of North America.

The winners of the 2014 Meritorious Service awards are Jeff Artzi, Bob Cohen, Bill Kugelman, Leslie Glaze, Liz Kanter Groskind and Steve Zupcic. The Ben and Betty Brook Community Professional of the Year is Anne Lowe, Northwest Division Director of the Jewish Federation Northwest and the Outreach Director of the Jewish Federation of Southern Arizona.

Special Recognition Awards will be given to Patty Vallance @ the Tucson Firefighters and to Audrey Brooks & Donna Moser.

The Ben and Sally Smith Memorial College Youth Award, determined by a committee of the University of Arizona Hillel Foundation, is Aimee Kanter. The winner of the Rabbi Arthur R. Oleisky Teen Recognition Award if Michaela Davenport. Liora Olesen will receive the Outstanding Judaic Educator Award.

The Meyer and Libby Marmis Humanitarian Award will be presented to Iskashitaa Refugee Network.

All of these awards will be presented at the May 1 event. The Annual Meeting and Awards Celebration will also feature the election and installation of the Jewish Federation’s 2013-2014 board of directors and recognition of outgoing leaders Gary Kippur, Campaign Chair, and Julie Feldman, Women’s Philanthropy Campaign Chair.

Dessert and coffee will be served at the event. The cost to attend is $5 per person. The co-chairs of this year’s Annual Meeting & Awards Celebration are Angie Goorman and Adam Goldstein. The awards committee was chaired by Jim Whitehill.

For information or reservations, call 577-9393 or visit

The Jewish Federation of Southern Arizona is the local Jewish community’s central planning, coordinating, and fundraising body. Founded in 1946, it supports a broad spectrum of humanitarian, educational and cultural programs for the entire community through its local and international partner agencies. For more information, visit or call 577-9393.

Show More

Related Articles

Back to top button